Macroeconomics Workshop

Past seminars (AY 2018)

2018/04/10(Tue)
Andrea Ferrero (University of Oxford)
"Concerted E orts? Monetary Policy and Macro-Prudential Tools"
Chair: Ippei Fujiwara
Presentation in English
2018/04/17(Tue)
Francesco Zanetti (University of Oxford)
"State Dependence in Labor Market Fluctuations: Evidence, Theory and Policy Implications"
Chair: Ippei Fujiwara
Presentation in English
2018/04/24(Tue)
Tatsuro Senga (Queen Mary University of London)
"Default Risk and Aggregate Fluctuations in an Economy with Production Heterogeneity"
Chair: Yoshimasa Shirai
Presentation in English
2018/05/08(Tue)
Greg Kaplan (The University of Chicago)
"Microeconomic Heterogeneity and Macroeconomic Shocks (joint with Gianluca Violante)"
Chair: Ippei Fujiwara
Presentation in English
2018/05/29(Tue)
Makoto Saito (Hitotsubashi University)
"On the possibility of deflationary equilibria with monetary expansion: A reconciliation between the fiscal theory of the price level and the quantity theory of money"
Chair: Ippei Fujiwara
Presentation in English
2018/06/05(Tue)
Yu-chin Chen (University of Washington)
"Exchange Rates and Term Structures"
Chair: Ippei Fujiwara
Presentation in English
2018/06/15(Fri)
So Kubota (The University of Tokyo)
“Child care costs and stagnating female labor force participation in the U.S.”
Joint with Applied Economics Workshop and Macroeconomics Workshop 
Room (Note the change): First School Building , #107 (1st fl.) / Time (Note the change): 16:30-18:00
Chair: Masao Ogaki
2018/06/19(Tue)
Naohito Abe (Institute of Economic Research, Hitotsubashi University)
"Quantifying and Accounting for Quality Differences in Services in International Price Comparisons: A Bilateral Price Comparison between United States and Japan"
Chair: Ippei Fujiwara
Presentation in English
2018/06/26(Tue)
Chris Edmond (University of Melbourne)
“How Costly Are Markups?”
Chair: Ippei Fujiwara
Presentation in English
2018/07/03(Tue)
Presentations by graduate students
Chair: Ippei Fujiwara
Presentation in English
2018/07/10(Tue)
Hiroyuki ITO (Portland State University)
"A key Currency View of Global Imbalances"
Chair: Masaya Sakuragawa
Presentation in English
2018/09/25(Tue)
Mark Weder (The University of Adelaide)
“Animal Spirits, Financial Markets and Aggregate Instability”
Chair: Ippei Fujiwara
Presentation in English
2018/10/09(Tue)
Richard Anton Braun (FRB Atlanta)
"Old, frail, and uninsured: Accounting for features of the U.S. long-term care insurance market"
Chair: Keiichiro Kobayashi
Presentation in English
2018/10/12(Fri)
Joseph Kaboski (University of Notre Dame)
“Skill-Biased Structural Change”
Joint with Francisco J. Buer, Richard Rogerson and Juan I. Vizcaino
Joint with Applied Economics Workshop and Macroeconomics Workshop Special Workshops 
Room (Note the change): First School Building , #107 (1st fl.) / Time (Note the change): 16:30-18:00
Chair: Masao Ogaki
Presentation in English
2018/10/16(Tue)
Teruyoshi Kobayashi (Kobe University)
"Network approaches to analyzing the financial system"
Chair: Ippei Fujiwara
Presentation in Japanese
2018/10/23(Tue)
Shuhei Takahashi (Kyoto University)
"Does State-Dependent Wage Setting Generate Multiple Equilibria?"
Chair: Yasuo Hirose
Presentation in English
2018/10/30(Tue)
Espen Henricksen (BI Norweigian School of Business )
"Risky capital of emerging markets"
Chair: Ippei Fujiwara
Presentation in English
2018/11/06(Tue)
Aarti Singh (University of Sydney)
"Household Balance Sheets and Consumption Responses to Income Shocks"
Chair: Ippei Fujiwara
Presentation in English
2018/11/27(Tue)
Takashi Kamihigashi (Kobe University)
"A Dynamic General Equilibrium IS-LM Model"
Chair: Keiichiro Kobayashi
Presentation in English
2018/12/04(Tue)
Taisuke Nakata (FRB)
"Attenuating the Forward Guidance Puzzle: Implications for Optimal Monetary Policy"
Chair: Yasuo Hirose
Presentation in English
2018/12/18(Tue)
Yoosoon Chang (Indiana University)
"What Drives Monetary Policy Shifts?: A New Approach to Regime Switching in DSGE Models"
Chair: Ippei Fujiwara
Presentation in English
2018/12/18(Tue)
Kiminori Matsuyama (Northwestern University)
"Engel’s Law in the Global Economy: Demand-Induced Patterns of Structural Change, Innovation, and Trade"
Time (Note the change): 16:30-18:00
Chair: Yoshimasa Shirai
Presentation in English
2018/12/25(Tue)
Nao Sudo (Bank of Japan)
"Low interest rates, financial technologies outside banks, and financial stability"
Chair: Yasuo Hirose
Presentation in English
2019/01/08(Tue)
Munechika Katayama (Waseda University)
“On Financial Risk, Growth, and Long-Run Risk”
Chair: Yasuo Hirose
Presentation in English
1970/01/01(Thu)
Yuta Takahashi (Hitotsubashi University)
"Discouraging Deviant Behavior in Monetary Economics"
Chair: Yoshimasa Shirai
Presentation in English